Agence WordPress Be API | Our expertise | Redesign and migration of websites to WordPress

Website redesign and migration to WordPress

Migration, a central, multidisciplinary theme for your project


Depending on the volume of content to be taken over, and your enrichment and requalification needs, content migration dictates numerous decisions right from the design phase (information architecture, wireframes, etc.). That's why, at Be API, it's an issue we address right from the first workshops.
As the project progresses, developments associated with content migration are part of the first development sprints, to give the project team time to thoroughly test this key element, and possibly allow for enrichment on the part of the customer.
Finally, site and content migration implies a strategy of SEO redirects (and modifying obsolete internal links) to maintain your website's good natural referencing.

Our experience


Be API has carried out numerous redesigns of projects using the WordPress CMS, and most of the time, our customers expect us to rework the content.

We have migrated sites created with the following CMS to WordPress:

  • Drupal
  • Typo3
  • Spip
  • Joomla
  • Jahia
  • Ektron

This list is not exhaustive. We regularly discover new CMS (both open source and proprietary) as projects come along, and most of the time we apply the same working methodology. Our starting point is a technical exchange with the CMS publisher, in the absence of documentation to study.

Our teams are also used to working with databases such as MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access, Oracle and Filemaker, as well as flat files such as Excel, CSV, JSON and XML.

Migrating from a WordPress site to WordPress


Contrary to popular belief, the redesign of WordPress websites can also include a content migration project.

WordPress is a particularly flexible CMS, and there are as many ways of working with this content management system as there are professionals who use it.


At Be API, we've chosen theGutenberg editor for all our projects. This content editor, which appeared in WordPress 5.0, has revolutionized contribution possibilities.

In fact, when we want to redesign a WordPress project created before WordPress 5.0, there's a very good chance that the content editor used will be different (WPbakery, Advanced Custom Fields-ACF, Beaver Builder, Elementor or Divi).


As a result, you'll need to migrate your content in order to find equivalents between the old content organization and the new one proposed by Gutenberg and WordPress.

Our methodology

Survey of existing facilities

Data mapping

Development & Testing

Single or incremental migration

A successful migration requires teamwork between the customer and the agency. Our customers have the business knowledge of their existing site, while the agency has the technical knowledge, and it's the combination of these 2 areas of expertise that will ensure a quality migration.
In order to carry out the study and testing phase successfully, we ask our customers to draw up a qualitative list of significant content to be tested/received.
This methodology has been tried and tested on numerous projects, whatever the volume or complexity of the content.

Content enrichment during site migration to WordPress

Site redesigns often lead to significant changes in content organization (properties, taxonomies & classification). These evolutions generally originate in the co-design workshops carried out during the project.
To facilitate the associated enrichment work, we generally propose an intermediate step during the migration aimed at generating an Excel file. In most cases, this spreadsheet file facilitates content enrichment in a format suitable for mass publishing.


Once the file has been completed, it integrates the content migration process, making it possible, for example, to re-categorize all the content on a WordPress site.


From time to time, our customers wish to benefit from this mass editing and enrichment capability, via export and import of CSV or Excel files. We generally recommend the "WP All Export" and "WP All Import" extensions for these routines, and integrate templates for exporting and importing content via these extensions into our projects.

Drupal to WordPress migration

Is your current site running on the open source CMS Drupal (version 6, 7, 8 or 9) and you'd like to migrate to WordPress? It's already a good decision 🙂

There are several ways to migrate your Drupal data to the WordPress CMS.

First of all, you can use the premium "FG Drupal to WordPress" extension edited by French expert Frédéric Gilles. It's a well-made tool, but it's a long way from our methodology, so we generally recommend it for low-cost migrations in the context of specific projects.


At the agency, we've opted for an alternative approach that strictly adheres to our methodology. When necessary, we develop a Drupal module to expose migration data via a JSON stream. In this way, we can perform complete or incremental migrations at any time from your old Drupal site currently in production.

Spip to WordPress migration

Spip used to be a very good CMS, but it has now been surpassed by a number of market players, including WordPress.

Like Drupal (see previous chapter), there's the "FG Spip to WordPress" plugin edited by French expert Frédéric Gilles, and like Drupal, we recommend an alternative approach based on data exposure via specific feeds.

Agence WordPress Be API | Nos expertises | Refonte et migration de sites vers WordPress

Refonte et migration de sites vers WordPress

La migration, une thématique centrale et pluridisciplinaire durant votre projet


En fonction du volume de contenus à reprendre, de vos besoins d’enrichissement et de requalification, la migration des contenus dicte de nombreuses décisions dès la phase de conception (architecture de l’information, wireframes, etc.). C’est pourquoi, à l’agence Be API, c’est une problématique adressée dès les premiers ateliers.
Dans la suite du projet, les développements associés à la migration des contenus font partie des premiers sprints de développement afin de donner du temps à l’équipe projet de tester en profondeur cet élément clé, et éventuellement permettre un enrichissement de la part du client.
Enfin, qui dit migration de sites et de contenus, implique une stratégie de redirections pour le SEO (et modifier les liens internes obsolètes) afin de maintenir le bon référencement naturel de votre site internet.

Nos expériences


Be API a réalisé de nombreuses refontes de projets sous le CMS WordPress, et la majeure partie du temps, une reprise des contenus est attendue par nos clients.

Nous avons migré vers WordPress des sites réalisés avec les CMS suivants :

  • Drupal
  • Typo3
  • Spip
  • Joomla
  • Jahia
  • Ektron

Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive. Nous découvrons régulièrement de nouveaux CMS (open source comme propriétaire) au gré des projets, et nous appliquons la plupart du temps la même méthodologie de travail. Avec comme point de départ un échange technique avec l’éditeur du CMS, en l’absence de documentation à étudier.

Nos équipes sont également habituées à travailler sur des bases de données comme MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access, Oracle, Filemaker mais également des fichiers à plat comme Excel, CSV, JSON ou bien XML.

Migrer d’un site WordPress vers WordPress


Contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire, la refonte de sites web WordPress, peut également inclure un chantier de migration de contenus.

En effet, WordPress est un CMS particulièrement flexible, et il y a autant de façon de travailler avec ce système de gestion de contenus que de professionnels qui l’utilisent.


Chez Be API, nous avons fait le choix de l’éditeur Gutenberg pour l’ensemble de nos projets. Cet éditeur de contenu apparu dans WordPress 5.0 a révolutionné les possibilités de contribution.

De fait, lorsque l’on souhaite refondre un projet WordPress réalisé avant WordPress 5.0, il y a de très fortes chances que l’éditeur de contenu utilisé soit différent (WPbakery, Advanced Custom Fields-ACF, Beaver Builder, Elementor ou Divi).


Dès lors, il faut prévoir un travail de migration des contenus afin de trouver des équivalences entres l’ancienne organisation des contenus, et la nouvelle proposée par Gutenberg et WordPress.

Notre méthodologie

Étude de l’existant

Mapping des données

Développement & Tests

Migration unique ou incrémentielle

Une migration réussie passe obligatoirement par un travail d’équipe entre le client et l’agence. Nos clients possèdent la connaissance métier de leur site existant, l’agence possède la connaissance technique, c’est l’association de ces 2 expertises qui va permettre une migration de qualité.
Afin de mener à bien l’étude et la phase de tests, nous demandons à nos clients d’établir une liste qualitative de contenus significatifs à tester / recetter.
Cette méthodologie a été éprouvée sur de très nombreux projets, quelle que soit la volumétrie ou la complexité des contenus.

Enrichissement de contenus durant une migration de sites vers WordPress

Il est fréquent qu’une refonte de sites amène à des évolutions significatives dans l’organisation des contenus (propriétés, taxinomies & classification). Ces évolutions trouvent généralement leur origine dans les ateliers de co-conception menées durant le projet.
Pour faciliter le travail d’enrichissement associé, nous proposons généralement une étape intermédiaire durant la migration visant à générer un fichier Excel. Ce fichier au format tableur facilite la plupart du temps l’enrichissement des contenus dans un format adapté à des éditions de masse.


Une fois le fichier complété, il intègre le processus de migration des contenus, et permet par exemple de re-catégoriser tous les contenus d’un site WordPress.


Il arrive de temps à autre que nos clients souhaitent bénéficier de cette possibilité d’édition et d’enrichissement de masse, via l’export et l’import de fichiers CSV ou Excel. Pour cela, nous recommandons généralement les extensions “WP All Export” et “WP All Import” pour mener à bien ces routines, et intégrons dans le cadre de nos projets des modèles-types d’export et d’import de contenu via ces extensions.

Migration Drupal vers WordPress

Votre site actuel fonctionne avec le CMS Open Source Drupal (version 6, 7, 8 ou 9) et vous souhaitez migrer vers WordPress ? C’est déjà une bonne décision 🙂

Il existe différents moyens de migrer vos données Drupal vers le CMS WordPress.

En premier lieu, il est possible d’utiliser l’extension premium “FG Drupal to WordPress” éditée par l’expert français Frédéric Gilles. C’est un outil de bonne facture mais qui s’éloigne de notre méthodologie, nous le recommandons généralement pour des migrations à bas coût dans le cadre de projets spécifiques.


A l’agence, nous avons opté pour un fonctionnement alternatif respectant strictement notre méthodologie. Pour cela, nous développons quand cela est nécessaire un module Drupal afin d’exposer les données utiles à la migration via un flux JSON. Ainsi, nous avons la possibilité de faire des migrations complètes ou incrémentielles à tout moment à partir de votre ancien site Drupal actuellement en production.

Migration Spip vers WordPress

Spip fut par le passé un très bon CMS, mais il est désormais surpassé par de nombreux acteurs du marché dont WordPress.

Tout comme Drupal (cf le chapitre précédent), il existe le plugin “FG Spip to WordPress” éditée par l’expert français Frédéric Gilles, et tout comme Drupal, nous recommandons une approche alternative basée sur une exposition des données via des flux spécifiques.